top of page

Hyper-Reality by Keiichi Matsuda


Our course leader showed us the video above about hyper-reality. He explained how VFX can relate to hyper-reality and how the video itself is believable. My first thought when I watch the video was similar to everyone else's; how cool would it be to have a type of device that allows you to interact with the world, and places everyone visits in a daily basis. For example, in the scene of the supermarket, you could see the product details and available offer. This is a completely new view for a futuristic world. I personally like this style of VFX because it motivates me to do it and to experiment with different shapes, colours and see where creativity takes me to. With this thought in mind, I would imagine a smartphone, but instead of having everything in the screen, it would be more as a 3D hologram menu coming from the phone.

Keiichi Matsuda is a pioneer of hyper-reality. "Keiichi Matsuda is a designer and filmmaker. His research examines the implications of emerging technologies for human perception and built new environments. Keiichi is interested in the dissolving boundaries between virtual and physical, working with video, architecture and interactive media to propose new perspectives on the city."*

I think Matsuda is trying to communicate to the world what we can turn out to be in 10 years if we don't have boundaries within technology. As mentioned before, I think he wants to show how technology has a big influence within us, that it will be difficult to create a division between real life and technology. He has exhibited his work internationally, from London’s V&A Museum to the Art Institute of Chicago, the New York MoMA, up to Shanghai EXPO. He has been published extensively in print and online, and has won awards for design, drawing, speaking and filmmaking. Now going back to me, making VFX for movies is one of my goals, however people like Matsuda inspire me to make VFX for hyper-reality. His Hyper-reality work encourages me to make my own video about it, and it may come out soon...



*http://km.cx/about/


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me​
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page